A Brief Brand Review: Nyx.

on

Hey guys I am so sorry for the lateness of this post I’ve been having serious technical issues with my camera. It was having a bitch fit so I thought I’d give it some alone time and thankfully everything seems to be working as of now. To compensate for the lateness of this post I will be publishing another one tomorrow so make sure you follow this blog so you don’t miss it! It is either going to be a ‘colour correcting on a budget’or a ‘Morphe 350S palette review and swatches’, if you have any preferences on what post you’d like to see first let me know in the comments section below!

Nyx has been such a hyped up brand and we’ve relatively recently been gifted with in-store stalls so we can swatch and play with some of the products which our American counter-parts have been raving about. I have in the past tried the odd product from nyx but recently I decided to do a mini haul and give their products a real test. It is at this point that I should mention that I did lose some photos in this post (including swatches*) so I would like to give an honourable mention to their contour refill pans, more specifically to the colour ‘cream’ which has completely replaced my ABH banana powder! It is a beautiful, creamy powder that lightly highlights and brightens the face without looking ashy so if you were looking for a cheaper alternative I would highly recommend it. The fact that they sell individuals as well as palettes definitely adds brownie points in my books also.

WARM NEUTRALS PALETTE: The first product I would like to discuss is the ‘Nyx Ultimate shadow palette in the shade Warm Neutrals’. Now this is a palette that I have been trying to get my hands on for a few months but to my dismay has been constantly out of stock. So when I tracked it down to my local boots I ran… not literally of course 😂.  I have seen this product so many times on Instagram so I was eager to try it out myself and I have to say I’m so glad I did! Now there are a lot of pros and woes to this palette as their are with most palettes so lets get down to it. Pros: To my complete surprise the mattes in this palette are absolutely beautiful. They apply to the lid well, they blend like a dream, they are amazing shadows that make me reach for this palette again and again. This is a real treat as usually matte shadows on a budget can be really hard to formulate but NYX pulled it of with this one. Price is an obvious plus to this palette at coming in at £16 for 16 shades thats a £1 a shadow which is great value. Another pro to this palette is the packaging, even though it is a bit bulkier than it needs to be I like the clear lid and the arrangement of the shadows themselves I find aesthetically pleasing. Cons: The only con I have with this palette is going to be a matter of personal preference and that is the shimmer shades! It pains me to say this but I found the shimmer shades in this palette really lack lustre in the sense that there is nothing wrong (as they don’t skip or apply chalky) but  are not as high shine as I want them to be. I am personally a big fan of a shimmer shadow being metallic so average verging on satin shades don’t make the cut for me and I am more likely to use the shimmer shades as an inner corner highlight than a lid shade. But depending on your preference you may prefer something more subtle and the fact that these shades aren’t metallic might be a plus for you. It also makes this palette great for those just beginning with make-up and warm tones and want something goof-proof. All in all I am head over heels in love with this palette and would wholeheartedly recommend it. I have also noticed similarities between this palette and the new Naked Heat Palette with some of the darker matte shades in the NYX palette out preforming the Urban Decay shades. So if you were looking for a cheaper alternative than you might want to check this palette out.

LID LINGERIE: While we’re on the topic of eye products these cream shadows are my new favourite. I found them pigmented and application process super easier due to the doe foot applicator. Now to give you some information I have really oily eyelids so cream shadows don’t really tend to last on me so I was really surprised at the wear time as they lasted a full 6-8 hours on my eyes without a primer.  I have included a close up shot of the shade I have ‘Gold Standard’ which is a gold with a pearlescent reflect that is absolutely beautiful. So if you were looking for a new cream shadow I would recommend these!

LIP LINGERIE: These are one of the most popular products NYX has so I knew I wanted to pick one of them up. When picking out my shade I had some difficulty deciding which one as a lot of them looked really similar but I eventually chose ‘Bustier’ which is a cool tone taupe. The texture of the product was very silicone-y initially but I found the formula to be very traditional in the fact that they dry down within 10 seconds into a very powdery matte finish. They cling to your lips so make sure you have used a lip scrub before hand as the formula is very unforgiving but with that said they last very well and are fully transfer proof. If you like an intense long wear liquid lipstick then I would point you in this direction instead of the next product I am going to be reviewing. As a side note this product does include ‘mineral oil’ as it’s second ingredient, I know a lot of people have a problem with this ingredient so I thought I would mention it.

LIQUID SUEDE: I loved the colour selection in this formula in comparison to the lip lingeries as I found their was a more distinct difference between shades. The applicator it larger than the limber’s also but it has the same great flat paddle applicator. The biggest difference I found was that the liquid suedes are less matte and are never fully transfer proof so if that is something you are looking for in a liquid lipstick you may prefer the lingeries. They took 7 mins to look matte but around 30 minutes to be mostly transfer proof.  They lasted well through drink and food and I didn’t feel the need to top up until the 4th hour and it applied well over itself. The fact that they never really set however means that they are more forgiving on your lips and they are definitely less drying than the lip lingeries. I would say that if I found a colour I liked in the liquid sueded range I would not be put of the formula but I wouldn’t in the lip lingerie range as I found them too drying for me but I know a lot of people prefer a dryer formula.

CONCLUSION: Overall I was very happy with the purchases I made at the NYX stand and I am excited to use more from the brand. My standout products would be eyeshadow palette and the lid lingeries which I will be picking up more colours in! If you found this review helpful make sure to give it a like and follow my blog! If you’ve tried any of these products and have had the same or different experiences make sure to leave them in the comments section below!

*If you would like me to come back to this post and add in swatches so you can see what they colours look like on a medium skin tone let me know in the comments below and I will be sure to do that!

One Comment Add yours

  1. NYX is such a great drugstore brand. Completely appreciated this entry. Check out my latest posts?
    Mena | femmerewritten.com

    Like

Leave a Reply

