Foundation Review: Maybelline Dream Cushion.

 

This is my first foundation review as I am not often a foundation wearer as I find that I always ALWAYS get matched wrong and it never sits rightly on my skin.  However, I did make an exception in this case after hearing about cushion foundations from Lisa Eldridge on YouTube. This one from Maybelline caught my eye while strolling through the aisles of Superdrug and here is what I thought of it…

I picked up the shade 40 Fawn which I completely regretted on the way home as it appears too pink on my skin tone but I tried not the let that get in the way of the review. But that is something to keep in mind as that is my biggest downfall of this foundation as it is hard to match yourself  and you may not be able to find your ideal shade.

The packaging really aesthetically pleasing even though it is on the slightly bulkier side of the spectrum. When you open it you can see the sponge it comes with which sits in the divider and then underneath you have the cushion foundation itself.  Pretty standard packaging for a cushion foundation, nothing to write home about.

Application wise I didn’t mind the way the product applied with the sponge that was provided but personally preferred to use a stippling brush(RealTechniques) just for ease of use and speed. It applied smoothly on the skin, felt super light and provided a light to almost medium coverage. It managed to cover small troublesome ares but did more to just even out the skin tone and add a radiant glow to the skin.

It has been quite warm here in the UK so probably not the best time to be trying out so a dewy foundation but I wasn’t expecting a long-wear formula with a product like this so keep that in mind. I found it wore around 4 hours on my skin before my oils came through and I would want to powder which is pretty good considering. What I found was a major plus with this formula is that I found I could apply more as a touch up over existing product and it didn’t look cakey which is great for a formula like this one when you have an oiler skin type.

Overall I did like the way this foundation looked on my skin, the way it applied and lasted considering but I won’t continue wearing it as the shade makes me look ill 😂. With that said I will go back to Superdrug to pick up another colour as I do really like the formula. Now would I recommend this? If you can find your shade and have reasonable expectations of this light coverage, light weight, dewy foundation I think you will enjoy it. I would be more inclined to recommend this to someone with a dryer skin but if you are oilier you can make it work . So that it my short review of the Maybelline dream cushion foundation, hope you liked it and don’t forget to leave your thoughts in the comment section below!

2 Comments Add yours

  1. paige says:

    I’ve only tried the Laneige cushion and love it! I really like the concept of cushion foundations. Hope you find your correct shade xx

    Like

    1. hanna3317 says:

      ooo I’ve never heard of that one, will have to add it to my list of things to try 😂 Thank you! And thanks for commenting 🙂 x

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

